I’m sat in the airport lounge in Ottawa Airport watching the snow fall on the runway and the small army of snow ploughs and trucks keep the path clear.  I am hoping that my flight home isn’t delayed.  This week I have been in Canada for a series of workshops and meetings with the engineering teams in Ciena on the emerging technologies for 5th Generation Mobile or 5G.   It has been a very productive week in that regard and the week has been very much a success.  It has however been a lean week for training for the Haute Route later this year.   With just a few months to go, the training and the fundraising has got to increase.

Last Saturday I joined the Rapha Cycling Club on a great day with a tribute to the Milan San-Remo pro’s race by cycling 167km from the London Soho Clubhouse to Hayling Island on the coast. First time this year pushing over the 100mile mark in a single ride and also pushing the climbing total up a little.  It was a fantastic day on the bike and a great group to ride with.

IMG_2852
photo credit @Alberto K

But then on Sunday evening, after an emotional day at Church, I was heading out from London Heathrow to Canada. After a careful study of the weather forecast for the week, I decided that the safer course of action for this week was not to bring the bike with me.  Temperatures throughout the week of -15deg C and a good amount of snow still on the ground and more falling proved this to be a wise decision.  So training this week was confined to a couple of sessions in the pool and a decent spin on the indoor bike in the hotel.

The training will step up a notch next week when I head out with my brother Chris and our mate Andy to get four solid days on the bike in the hills.

In the meantime, I hope this snow eases up a little as I want my flight to leave tonight.  Lisa and I are supposed to be Tandem Skydiving tomorrow, a 40th birthday present from my mum.  We are not diving tandem together I hasten to add, although the kids have been referring to it as the day we orphan them….

 

Leave a Reply

