I have been in the mobile industry for over 20 years and in March this year, I finally got the opportunity to go to the annual Mobile World Congress that for the last few years has been held in Barcelona.  It has become the largest mobile industry event of it’s kind and each year, the company I work for, Ciena, regularly has a presence at the show.  I was invited to go along to speak to customers and industry experts about the evolution of mobile networks towards 5G in 2019/2020.

IMG_2740

As well as hosting over 25 meetings with operators and partners from all across the globe over the 4 days of the conference, I also looked for opportunities to get out on the bike and cover some training miles. With a bit of investigation ahead of time through the Rapha Cycling Club, I found out that there was a cycling networking group organized by AdobeCycling .  So taking advantage of this I joined up with them for early morning rides around Barcelona, ahead of the conference start days.

DSC00762
Ciena/Bike Centre Training Shirt looking good image credit – @benrabner @adobecycling

My original plan to ride with the group was scuppered when my rear mech cable snapped in the internal routing on my way from the hotel to the meeting point at the On Y Va cycling cafe.  Stuck in just a climbing gear I made it to the cafe with a hope that I could find someone who could knew a good bike shop that could repair my bike.   Thankfully that was the case and Jorrit from Cuesta Bike Rental  was on hand and offered to take my bike down to his workshop, fix the cable and then he delivered it back to my hotel all ready for use the next day.  Top notch service.

The ethos of the Adobe Cycling events is to bring together networking opportunities with local communities and local business.   So Jorrit was involved in providing bikes for those cycling, OnYva cafe was the host point providing breakfast and meeting point and then local riders such as Joe Rass from LeBikeStop .   Joe led the ride out on the Wednesday morning that I went out with the group and offered to come out riding with me on Friday after the conference.  So we met up early on Friday morning at my hotel and rode off into the Collserola mountains. Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 1.20.03 PM

Turns out he is also very good with the camera as well.

Image Credit – Joe @lebikestop.com 

This was probably the toughest training ride I had done so far this year out on the bike with some sustained climbing.   There is a lot more I need to do be ready for the Haute Route in August.

In the end I managed to get 200 km of riding and 3500m of climbing in for the week whilst still being fully engaged in MWC.    As a reminder the Haute Route Alps route is 900km and 22,000m of climbing in 7 days.    Please sponsor me…….  I am going to need the motivation.. 🙂

IMG_2786
Barcelona from the Collesrola mountains
Leave a Reply

