Haiti – relief via a diversity of organisations.

A few days ago I posted the following tweet on my twitter account.

I posted this tweet to illustrate the efforts that the two main organisations I am involved with; namely my employer Ericsson and the Church I attend The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints; are going to, to assist in the relief effort in the aftermath of the Haitian earthquake. 

It fills me with admiration for both these organisations that both are participating in some degree to help. Perhaps it is expected of a Church to be involved in relief efforts and I am glad the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints lives up to that expectation.  I am not sure if the same expectation exists for a multinational telecom vendor such as Ericsson.  However I am happy that such a company exceeds or even creates a different sort of expectation by providing relief services in the area it excells in. 

So I thought it would be worthwhile to post a few extra links to direct those who read this blog to the work that Ericsson and The LDS Church are doing alongside the many, many, many other organisations and relief agencies and volunteers that are working in Haiti and other places around the world.  There will be many unreported stories of selfless acts of service that take place as a result of this natural disaster, I think it is well worth publicising those that are reported.

Should you be looking for a way to donate funds to the relief effort it is possible by the first of the two links below. Members and visitors to the Church can also do so by the normal donation slips found in LDS buildings.  Fill out the Humanitarian Aid section on the slip.

http://www.ldsphilanthropies.org/humanitarian-services/

http://www.ericsson.com/ericsson/corporate_responsibility/ericssonresponse/index.shtml

Thoughts and prayers are with those in Haiti, both the Haitians effected and those working to provide relief.  Just this evening we learned how a survivor has been pulled from the rubble, 11 days after the quake, if there are more people alive in the rubble I pray they will be found and brought out alive.

Leave a Reply

