Diving

My main hobby is Scuba Diving.  It was Lisa who introduced me to Scuba diving when we were dating, although I didn’t try it myself for another 6 years.   During the time we were dating Lisa went back to Bahrain for a couple of weeks with her Dad and during that time she went diving in Jeddah, they hired a camera and took a couple of shots that she brought back with her.  This was my first introduction to diving.  Up till then my main hobby had been walking or hiking and so she explained diving, as itstead of starting at the bottom you start at the top and work down.  This is the perspective on it. 

So in Jan 2004 we booked to go to Cyprus with all the family to see my brother Chris who was stationed in the RAF there.  We thought it would be a bit of fun for me to get my PADI open water before we went out there and then we could go diving together.  So in the February and March 2004 I learned to dive in a pool in Reading and Windsor and then went to Horsea island to do my qualifying dives.  The water temp was 8deg and I was hooked.  From the moment I first put my head under the water and realised that with this equipment I could breathe underwater I was hooked.

We went to Cyprus and dived out there together and it was a great start.  I saw the wreck of the Zenobia on the wall of the dive centre and said I would come back and dive that.  I have still to do it but it is in the plans.   During 2004 I also qualified as an Advanced Open Water diver and found a diving group over at Yorkshire-Divers.com with whom I have done most of my diving. 

In December of 2004 I agreed to go on a wreck diving trip to Scapa flow with some divers from YD, this meant I needed to improve my diving skills, so I booked on a Technical Diving Course for June 2005, and the inbetween time was a time for me to practice and get better.  I changed my equipment so that I now dive with a twinset which is two cylinders banded together and also extra cylinders for decompression diving.  So during 2005 I dived on the south coast, Devon, Cornwall, Wales, NE Coast, Scottish West coast and also Scapa Flow in the Orkney Islands. 
In 2006 I hope to be able to do some of these dives again but this time with Lisa, as now she is now longer pregnant she can get back in the water…..

My diving blog is located at markg.thedeepstop.com and is kept up to date with all the diving that we do.  A link to it can be found in the links section on all the pages of this site.

Leave a Reply

